Home >Character Rules >

Summoning Rules

Summoning Rules

These general rules also apply to the necromancer’s Summoning class feature.

Standard action spells

Casting a summoning spell generally requires a standard action. The creature(s) you summon appears next to you, though feats or powers might enable you to summon it nearby instead.

Duration

A summoned creature fights for you until the end of the battle or until it drops to 0 hit points. At 0 hp, summoned creatures are slain and removed from the battle.

One summoning spell at a time

Each spellcaster can have only a single summoning spell active at a time. If all the creatures from an earlier summoning spell have been slain, you’re free to cast another. Alternatively, you can dismiss your own previously summoned creatures as a quick action to clear the way for a new summoning spell.

Halfway there

Summoned creatures are not the same as real creatures. They’re partly real, partly magical. Their abilities don’t always match the capabilities of the creatures that the adventurers encounter for real. Sometimes this is reflected in a summoned creature’s attacks or abilities. It’s always reflected in a summoned creature’s hit points.

Hit points

Each summoned creature stat block indicates its base hit points. Starting hit points for summoned creatures are nearly always lower than hit points for non-summoned versions of the same creature. Some class feats might increase the hit points of summoned creatures.

Actions on arrival

The turn you summon a creature, that creature takes its turn immediately after your turn in initiative order. During its turn, the summoned creature can act like any other creature, taking a standard, move, and quick action. The summoned creature continues to take its turn immediately after you (even if your initiative order changes) until the end of the battle.

Escalation die

As a rule, summoned creatures don’t benefit from the escalation die. A summoned creature can add the escalation die to attacks, however, if you use a quick action to give it orders or magical reinforcement. The summoned creature then gets to use the escalation die until the start of your next turn, including for opportunity attacks and other attacks that it gets to make during other creatures’ turns.

For example, during the turn you summon the creature, you use a quick action afterward to give it orders, allowing it to use the escalation die bonus. At the start of your next turn, the creature no longer gets to use the escalation die, so you’ll have to use another quick action again during that turn for the creature to keep getting the benefit.

If you’ve summoned a mob of mooks, a single quick action lets every member of the mob use the escalation die.

Allies

Summoned creatures generally count as your allies (for roleplaying as well as for resolving effects).

No recoveries, bad healing

Summoned creatures don’t have recoveries. If you cast a healing spell on a summoned creature that requires the use of a recovery, the summoned creature heals hit points equal to your level. If you use an effect that would heal a summoned creature without using a recovery, the summoned creature only heals half the normal hit points of the effect. Temporary hit points still work normally.

No nastier specials

Creatures you summon don’t use nastier specials.

Spell or creature

When a summoning spell is cast, it’s definitely a spell. After casting the spell, a summoned creature is a creature.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

13th Age Archmage Engine, version 3.0. Copyright © 2013-2015 Fire Opal Media. All Rights Reserved. Licensed under the Open Game License.